I’ve Been a Veggie for 3 Years

I always felt that eating another being was wrong. There was always a sense of guilt in the back of my mind when I had a meal simply because my temporary ‘happiness’ and ‘enjoyment’ was due to someone’s suffering.

How can something tasting good justify a lifetime of torture and a cruel death?

I wouldn’t want someone to do that to me.
I wouldn’t want to be forced into a cage for all my days not knowing what the sun ever looked like. I wouldn’t want to be pulled from my family after birth just to be tied up and beaten. I wouldn’t want to be hauled onto a truck with countless others awaiting our deaths.

I don’t want to die to satisfy people who don’t need to eat me to live on their lives.
So if you don’t want someone to do this to you, why would you allow this be done to someone else?

Because of this, I made a conscious decision to never eat another animal again.

And I’ve never been happier.

I would’ve done so earlier but when you make these lifelong decisions, you have to make sure you will be able to carry it out. So, I did my research, gathered information on the negative effects of eating meat (physically and environmentally), looked up recipes, searched restaurants, calculated my costs, and got more familiar with the idea.

When you’re younger, it’s especially hard because often times you don’t cook for yourself and you don’t want to be a burden to your family. So, there were things I had to learn to take on myself in order for me to make this possible, such as cooking and grocery shopping.

In the summer of 2013, I cut off all red meat and pork. I only relied on poultry because that was the hardest thing for me to give up. When 2014 came around, my New Year’s “resolution” or milestone was to go fully vegetarian!

As you can see, it takes a bit of perspective and getting used to the idea.

Soon enough, you will make it possible because you CAN do this!

Remember that.

Leave a Reply

